Purce Wins Ivy League Offensive Player, Rookie of the Year

Photo courtesy of Gil Talbot
Photo courtesy of Gil Talbot

Harvard totaled seven players on All-Ivy teams, the most since 2010.

PRINCETON, N.J.  – Led by freshman forward Midge Purce, who was named the Ivy League Offensive Player and Rookie of the Year, Harvard women's soccer placed seven student-athletes on All-Ivy League teams. Purce, senior captain Peyton Johnson and sophomore midfielder Haley Washburn were all named to the first team, the most Crimson honorees since 2011.

"I'm very proud of our team and their accomplishments this season," said head coach Ray Leone. "This was a compliment to our entire team. Any time individuals are recognized, it means that our team played well and worked together."

Purce and Johnson were both unanimous selections to the Ancient Eight first team. Purce is the first rookie to earn a Player of the Year award in League history and the first player of the year for Harvard since Melanie Baskind '12 in 2011 and the first rookie of the year since Baskind in 2008.

Junior defender Erika Garcia, junior midfielder Meg Casscells-Hamby and junior goalkeeper Cheta Emba were named to the All-Ivy second team. Junior midfielder Marie Margolius earned an All-Ivy honorable mention. The seven Crimson players honored by the conference marks the most for Harvard since 2010.

Purce led the Crimson in scoring with 26 points, tied for ninth-best all-time in a season at Harvard. She becomes the first freshman since 1995 (Naomi Miller '99) to record that number. The rookie tied for first in the league in points and goals.

Johnson, making the transition to defense, dished out six assists this season (third in the conference) while leading a defense that ranked second in the Ivy League with just 0.82 goals allowed per game. 

Washburn, a lynchpin in the midfield, recorded three points on the season with a goal and an assist. The Folsom, Calif., native was also a key component of the Harvard defense, starting 14 of 16 matches played.

Garcia was one of three Crimson players to start all 17 contests, anchoring a defense that ranked 48th in the nation with a .765 goals against average. Casscells-Hamby posted seven points off two goals and three assists, including on game winner in 16 games started. Margolius sits fourth on the team with nine points, scoring four goals and adding an assist.

Harvard continues on to the NCAA tournament, where the Crimson will match up against Boston University. Game time is set for 3 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 16.


Midge Purce, Harvard (Fr., F – Olney, Md.)

Caroline Dwyer, Penn (So., D – Exton, Pa.)

Midge Purce, Harvard (Fr., F – Olney, Md.)*



Caroline Dwyer, Penn (So., D – Exton, Pa.)
Peyton Johnson, Harvard (Sr., D – Catonsville, Md.)*
Meredith Speck, Yale (Jr., D – Rockville Centre, N.Y.) 

Corey Delaney, Dartmouth (So., M – Chatham, N.J.)
Gabriella Guzman, Princeton (Sr., M – Bridgewater, N.J.)
Erin Mikolai, Penn (So., M – Quakertown, Pa.)
Haley Washburn, Harvard (So., M – Folsom, Calif.) 

Emma Brush, Dartmouth (Sr., F – Grosse Pointe Park, Mich.)
Melissa Gavin, Yale (Jr., F – Duxbury, Mass.)
Midge Purce, Harvard (Fr., F – Olney, Md.)*

Kalijah Terilli, Penn (So., GK – Bronx, N.Y.)


Jackie Friedman, Dartmouth (So., D – Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.)
Erika Garcia, Harvard (Jr., D – Carson City, Nev.)
Annie Gillen, Brown (Jr., D – San Clemente, Calif.)
Diane Metcalf-Leggette, Princeton (Sr., D – Centreville, Va.) 

Meg Casscells-Hamby, Harvard (Jr., M – Winter Park, Fla.)
Claire MacManus, Cornell (Jr., M – Rosemont, Pa.)
Shannon McSweeney, Yale (Sr., M – Stow, Mass.)
Rachel Nichols, Cornell (Sr., M – Fairfax Station, Va.) 

Chloe Cross, Brown (Jr., F – Seattle)
Lauren Lazo, Princeton (Jr., F – Scottsdale, Ariz.)
Beverly Leon, Columbia (Sr., F – Wrentham, Mass.)
Mika Siegelman, Brown (Sr., F – Piedmont, Calif.) 

MC Barrett, Brown (Sr., GK – Ithaca, N.Y.)
Cheta Emba, Harvard (Jr., GK – Glen Allen, Va.) 


Shannon FitzPatrick, Columbia (Sr., D – Johns Creek, Ga.)
Tahirih Nesmith, Penn (Fr., D – Charleston, S.C.) 

Charlotte Beach, Brown (So., M – New Haven, Conn.)
Lucielle Kozlov, Dartmouth (So., M – Vancouver, Canada)
Marie Margolius, Harvard (Jr., M – Acton, Mass.)
Marina Moschitto, Dartmouth (Sr., M – Andover, Mass.) 

Tyler Lussi, Princeton (Fr., F – Lutherville, Md.)
Natalie Melo, Columbia (Sr., F – Kissimmee, Fla.)
Kerry Scalora, Penn (Sr., F – Berlin, Conn.)


* Unanimous Selection
^ Due to ties in the voting, the All-Ivy second team was expanded from 11