Men’s Tennis Takes Down Vanderbilt for Eighth-Straight Win

Robert Wrzesinski Action Shot
Photo Courtesy of Debi Lorenc

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The Harvard men's tennis team defeated Vanderbilt 4-3 in a closely contested match to remain undefeated. The Crimson now holds an 8-0 record in dual match play.

Falling behind 1-0 after dropping the doubles point, the Crimson came back strong with sophomore Harris Walker defeating his opponent, 6-2, 6-1, to tie the match up. In the third singles position, first-year Henry von der Schulenburg defeated Max Freeman in straight sets to tie the match up once again, this time at two.

Junior Robert Wrzesinski would win his match, 6-2, 7-5, to put the Crimson up 3-2. However, Vanderbilt tied the match up for the third time with a victory at the No. 2 singles spot. Clinching the victory for the Crimson was sophomore Steven Sun, who defeated Marcus Ferreira, 6-4, 4-6, 7-6 (7-1) at the No. 6 position.

"That has to be one of the hardest fought and closest matches I've ever been a part of. It feels like both teams deserved the win today. Each team had multiple match points," stated the Scott Mead '77 Head Coach for Harvard Men's Tennis Andrew Rueb. "Hats off to Vandy and their great team and top-notch coaches. The entire match was full of examples of excellent sportsmanship. It was a great win for college tennis."

On the Crimson's play Rueb said, "Our team competed with such heart up and down the lineup. I'm so proud of how they stayed poised under pressure. Can't say enough about our closer Steven Sun who clinched in dramatic fashion.

Harvard Highlights

  • Sun has clinched the victory for the Crimson three times this season.
  • von der Schulenburg remains undefeated in all matches that he has finished, holding a 7-0 record.
  • Walker moves to 6-0 on the season, while Sun is 4-0.

Up Next
The Crimson will head to New York, N.Y. for the ECAC Team Championships, Feb. 14-16.

1. George Harwell def. No. 59 Ronan Jachuck, 6-2, 6-2
2. Billy Rowe def. Brian Shi, 6-4, 4-6, 7-6 (7-4)
3. Henry von der Schulenburg def. Max Freeman, 7-5, 6-1
4. Harris Walker def. Macsen Sisam, 6-2, 6-1
5. Robert Wrzesinski def. Panu Virtanen, 6-2, 7-5
6. Steven Sun def. Marcus Ferreira, 6-4, 4-6, 7-5 (7-1)

Order of Finish: 4, 1, 3, 5, 2, 6*
*clinching match

1. Rowe/Virtanen def. Jachuck/Shi, 6-1
2. Harwell/Sisam def. Sun/Walker, 6-4
3. von der Schulenburg/Wrzesinski def. Freeman/Worst, 6-4

Order of Finish: 1, 3, 2