No. 1 Men’s Squash Powers to Potter Cup Final After 9-0 Win Over Princeton

Saad looks
Saad Abouaish is 16-0 in 2019. (Photo/Gil Talbot)

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Harvard men's squash advanced to its second straight Potter Cup final on Saturday with a 9-0 win over the No. 4 Princeton Tigers. The Crimson is set to face off with the No. 3 Penn Quakers tomorrow afternoon at 2:45 p.m. in the CSA national championship.

Harvard cruised past the Tigers for its 32nd straight victory and 18th straight match on its home courts.

Senior co-captain Timothy Brownell got the first point of the day for Harvard with a quick 3-0 win at the sixth position. George Crowne followed suit with a 3-0 victory of his own to give Harvard a 2-0 match lead. Saadeldin Abouaish picked up the third point of the day as he outlasted his opponent at the third position and earned a 3-2 win.

Sean Hughes and Adam Corcoran both added victories of their own to clinch the match for the Crimson. Marwan Tarek, George Crowne, Samuel Scherl and Ayush Menon all earned 3-0 wins as well. Victor Crouin wrapped up the action with a 3-0 win at the first position.

Harvard Highlights

  • Harvard earned its 12th shutout victory of the season.
  • The Crimson improves its combined individual record to 140-4 on the season.
  • The top-seeded Crimson will play in its fourth straight Potter Cup Final.
  • Samuel Scherl extended his team-best win streak to 31 matches. Saadeldin Abouaish improves his streak to 27 wins in a row.
  • Nine members of the Crimson enter the final match of the season with undefeated records.

Up Next
Harvard will look to defend its national championship title against the Penn Quakers tomorrow at 2:45 p.m. The Crimson and the Quakers will face off at the Murr Center Squash Courts for the Potter Cup.

Harvard 9 – 0 Princeton

  1. Victor Crouin def. Youssef Ibrahim, 3-0 (11-4, 11-7, 11-3)
  2. Marwan Tarek def. Cole Becker, 3-0 (11-3, 11-2, 11-2)
  3. Saadeldin Abouaish def. Adhitya Raghavan, 3-2 (14-12, 9-11, 10-12, 11-9, 11-8)
  4. Samuel Scherl def. Gabriel Morgan, 3-0 (11-7, 11-5, 11-2)
  5. Sean Hughes def. Duncan Joyce, 3-1 (11-1, 11-7, 8-11, 11-5)
  6. Timothy Brownell def. Maaz Khatri, 3-0 (11-6, 11-4, 11-1)
  7. George Crowne def. Hao-Chen Cheng, 3-0 (11-6, 11-5, 11-9)
  8. Adam Corcoran def. William Ezratty, 1-0 (11-8, 9-4 RE)
  9. Ayush Menon def. Alexander Engstrom, 3-0 (11-5, 11-4, 11-7)