No. 1 Men’s Squash Downs Cornell, Clinches Outright Ivy League Championship

mens squash ivy championship graphic
Men's Squash won its 43rd Ivy League Championship on Saturday with its win over Cornell.

ITHACA, N.Y. – On the final day of the regular season, Harvard men's squash (14-0, 7-0 Ivy) completed its perfect season with a 9-0 win over Cornell to win the Ivy League championship for the second consecutive year. The title is the 43rd in the Crimson's history, and the team's sixth under the Gregory Lee '87 and Russell Ball '88 Endowed Coach for Harvard University and James Herscot '58 Coach of Excellence, Mike Way.

Harvard's championship-clinching performance came in dominant fashion as the Crimson did not drop a single match at any position. The 9-0 win was the 10th of the season for the nation's top-ranked squad, who finished with a combined 122-4 record in individual matches.

The match of the day belonged to junior, Samuel Scherl, who outscored his opponent, 33-8, en route to his 28th consecutive victory. Co-captains Timothy Brownell and Saadeldin Abouaish both allowed only 12 points in their 3-0 wins.

Harvard Highlights

  • Saadeldin Abouaish completed a perfect 14-0 regular season and improved his winning streak to 25 matches.
  • The Crimson dominated at positions 1-6 on the ladder this season, posting a 86-1 record through 14 matches.
  • Harvard has now won 11 consecutive road matchups.
  • The nation's top-ranked team is a combined 122-4 in individual matches in 2019-20.
  • Harvard men's squash completed its second consecutive undefeated regular season.
  • Samuel Scherl extended his team-best winning streak to 29 consecutive matches.

Up Next
The Crimson will have a week of rest and preparation before the CSA Team National Championships the weekend of Feb. 28. Harvard will look to repeat as national champions on its home floor as the CSA will use the Murr Center Squash Courts as the host venue for the event.

Harvard – 9, Cornell – 0
Victor Crouin def. Veer Chotrani, 3-0 (11-3, 11-3, 11-8)
Marwan Tarek def. Charles Culhane, 3-0 (11-6, 11-5, 11-5)
Saadeldin Abouaish def. Nikhil Iyer, 3-0 (11-5, 11-3, 11-4)
Samuel Scherl def. Luke Park, 3-0 (11-2, 11-1, 11-5)
Sean Hughes def. Nicholas Goth Errington, 3-0 (12-10, 11-1, 11-6)
Timothy Brownell def. Illia Presman, 3-0 (11-5, 11-2, 11-5)
George Crowne def. Humza Khan, 3-0 (11-2, 11-5, 11-6)
Adam Corcoran def. Alex Dworetzky, 3-0 (11-5, 11-2, 11-5)
Ayush Menon def. Jared Scherl, 3-0 (11-3, 11-9, 11-8)