No. 1 Men’s Squash Shuts Out No. 7 Yale, 9-0, Claims Share of Ivy League Title

ayush menon finishes his swing
Ayush Menon earned his first playoff win on Friday (Photo/Erica Denhoff)

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – No. 1 Harvard men's squash (12-0, 6-0 Ivy) clinched a share of the 2020 Ivy League championship with its 9-0 win over No. 7 Yale on Sunday. The Crimson improved its record against the Bulldogs to 78-21 all-time and captured its fifth consecutive win over its Ivy League foe. Harvard will have a chance to clinch the Ivy title outright next Saturday, when it travels to Ithaca, New York for a battle with the Cornell Big Red.

Senior co-captain Timothy Brownell and junior Adam Corcoran got the action started for the Crimson, as the duo registered a pair of 3-0 wins to give Harvard a 2-0 lead. Victor Crouin's 3-1 win at the first pairing gave Harvard a 3-0 lead that it would not surrender.

Shutout wins from George Crowne, Marwan Tarek and Samuel Scherl clinched the 12th win of the season for the Crimson. Co-captain Saadeldin Abouaish and first-years Ayush Menon and Liam Rotzoll added wins to bring the point total to nine.

Harvard Highlights

  • Harvard outscored the Bulldogs, 27-3.
  • Samuel Scherl and Saadeldin Abouaish won their 12th matches of the season to keep their perfect seasons alive with a pair of wins.
  • Scherl extended his dual-match win streak to 28, a team high.
  • Abouaish also extended his personal win streak to 23 matches.
  • The Crimson remains unbeaten at the top six positions in the lineup, posting a cumulative record of 72-0.
  • Harvard earned its ninth-straight road victory.
  • The nation's top-ranked team is now a combined 105-3 in individual matches in 2019-20.
  • Harvard has now posted nine shutout wins on the season.

Up Next
Harvard will travel across town to Tufts University for a weeknight tilt with the 24th-ranked Jumbos. The match is set to be played Wednesday, Feb. 12, at 5 p.m.

Harvard – 9, Yale – 0

  1. Victor Crouin def. Spencer Lovejoy, 3-1 (9-11, 11-7, 11-9, 11-3) 
  2. Marwan Tarek def. Harrison Gill, 3-0 (11-3, 11-6, 11-2)
  3. Saadeldin Abouaish def. Siow Yee Xian, 3-1 (11-8, 6-11, 11-8, 3-7 RE)
  4. Samuel Scherl def. Calvin McCafferty, 3-0 (11-8, 11-8, 11-3) 
  5. Timothy Brownell def. Eric Kim, 3-0 (11-4, 11-9, 13-11) 
  6. George Crowne def. Jed Burde, 3-0 (11-5, 11-7, 11-7) 
  7. Adam Corcoran def. Tyler Carney, 3-0 (11-2, 11-3, 11-6) 
  8. Ayush Menon def.  Jacob Rhee, 3-0 (11-5, 11-2, 11-4) 
  9. Liam Rotzoll def. Janson Chu, 3-1 (7-11, 12-10, 11-2, 11-2)