No. 16 Men's Ice Hockey Set To Open 68th Beanpot Against No. 13/13 Northeastern

Harvard will open the 68th Beanpot tomorrow night (5 p.m.) against Northeastern. (Matt Dewkett)
Harvard will open the 68th Beanpot tomorrow night (5 p.m.) against Northeastern. (Matt Dewkett)

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. -- No. 16 Harvard men's ice hockey is set for the 68th annual Beanpot and an opening round matchup against No. 13/13 Northeastern next Monday night (Feb. 3) at TD Garden. Harvard and Northeastern will meet at 5 p.m. in a game that will be broadcast by NESN, NHL Network, and TSN2. The Crimson is coming off an 8-5 win at Union last Friday night (Jan. 31) as Jack Drury and Nick Abruzzese each had two goals and two assists. Harvard's six-goal second period was its highest output in a single period since March 6, 1998 (six goals, 1st period, W, 7-6 at Vermont).

How to Follow
Broadcast: NESN/NHL Network/TSN2
Stream: NESN Go 
Live Stats: vs. Northeastern
Twitter: @HarvardMHockey
Game Notes: Harvard

What to Know
• Monday's meeting between Harvard and Northeastern is the 45th in the history of the Beanpot Tournament, with the Crimson owning a 24-20 record in previous contests.
• Harvard and Northeastern last met in the Beanpot in 2017, with the Crimson earning a 4-3 victory over the Huskies in the opening round on Feb. 6, 2017. Seniors Alexander Kerfoot and Luke Esposito recorded a goal and an assist to lead the Crimson up front. Current senior captain Nathan Krusko had an assist in the game and is the only current Harvard player who played in that contest. Krusko was the 2017 Beanpot Most Valuable Player.
• Harvard (2017) and Northeastern (2018, 2019) are the winners of the last three Beanpots, marking the first time in tournament history that BU or BC has not taken home the trophy in three consecutive years.
• Harvard is seeking to return to the Beanpot championship after winning the tournament in 2017, when the Crimson beat Northeastern, 4-3, in the opening round, then topped BU, 6-3 to clinch its first Beanpot since 1993. Harvard has won the Beanpot 11 times in program history.
• First-year forward Nick Abruzzese, sophomore forward Casey Dornbach, and sophomore forward Jack Drury are Harvard's nominees for the 2020 Hobey Baker Award. Abruzzese (10-17-27) leads all NCAA freshmen with an average of 1.35 points per game. Dornbach is Harvard's leading scorer (10-19-29) and has 17 points (five goals, 12 assists) in his last 11 games. Drury (13-13-26) is second among NCAA scorers with 1.53 points per game and has 17 points (nine goals, eight assists) in his last eight games, with an eight game point streak.
• Northeastern snapped a two-game skid last Friday with an impressive 4-3 win over Providence, and has a 9-3 record in its last 12 games. Sophomore forward Tyler Madden (17-16-33) is one of the nation's top scorers. Northeastern is 10th in the nation in scoring (3.30 goals per game), and has one of the nation's top penalty killing units (89.2%, 4th, NCAA). Senior Craig Pantano (14-7-2, 2.41, .914) has started all 23 games in net for the Huskies.

Harvard Hockey on Social

Ted Donato '91, The Robert D. Ziff '88 Head Coach for Harvard Men's Ice Hockey
Following success as a player at the collegiate, professional and international levels, Ted Donato has begun piling up a long list of accomplishments as head coach at his alma mater. The former Crimson captain has guided Harvard to four 20-win seasons, captured ECAC Hockey and Ivy League championships, claimed six NCAA tournament berths, a Frozen Four appearance, led his team to six ECAC Hockey championship games, and coached 11 All-Americans and 15 National Hockey Leaguers. As a player at Harvard he was named the 1989 MVP of the Frozen Four during the Crimson's national title run. Drafted by the Boston Bruins in 1987, Donato played 796 games over 13 NHL seasons. His career in the NHL commenced after he competed on the 1992 USA Olympic team where he scored four goals and three assists in eight games.

Up Next
Harvard returns to ECAC Hockey play on Friday night (Feb. 7) with an 8 p.m. road contest at Dartmouth.